Skip to content

Lucas Oil Raceway announces the season-long A.J. Foyt Championship

Lucas Oil Raceway is proud to announce the A.J. Foyt Championship, a season-long points battle featuring three disciplines of open-wheel racing: USAC Silver Crown, Sprint Cars, and Champion Midgets.

The A.J. Foyt Championship, which will be contested across eight races in 2021, recognizes champions dating back to the birth of oval racing at Lucas Oil Raceway. It is named after A.J. Foyt, who won the first oval event at the facility in May of 1961.

This Championship format puts an emphasis on race wins, feature participation, and furthermore, gives an advantage to drivers who can excel in multiple classes of open-wheel racing to showcase their diverse skillset.

Former winners of the A.J. Foyt Championship include historic names such as Jeff Gordon, Parnelli Jones, Ryan Newman, Roger McCluskey, Rich Vogler, Ken Schrader, Dave Steele, Merle Bettenhausen, Mel Kenyon, and Kenny Irwin Jr. In recent years, the Championship has been dominated by the likes of Kody and Tanner Swanson, Bobby Santos, Tracy Hines, and Kyle Hamilton. View the full list of former winners here.

Season-winners of the A.J. Foyt Championship will have their names etched into the A.J. Foyt Championship Trophy – the beautiful silver-clad icon of history which represents this competition – plus an invitation to the exclusive champions-only dinner to be held on Wednesday, December 8th in conjunction with the PRI Show.

The latest edition of the A.J. Foyt Championship will be contested across four events at Lucas Oil Raceway in 2021:

Carb Night Classic (Friday, May 28th)

  • Race 1: Champion Midgets
  • Race 2: USAC Silver Crown Series

Thursday Night Thunder Homecoming (Thursday, June 17th)

  • Race 3: Pavement Sprint Cars
  • Race 4: Champion Midgets

SRX Independence Showdown (Saturday, July 3rd)

  • Race 5: Champion Midgets

Hoosier Classic (Friday, August 13th & Saturday, 14th)

  • Race 6: Pavement Sprint Cars (Fri, Aug 13th)
  • Race 7: Champion Midgets (Sat, Aug 14th)
  • Race 8: USAC Silver Crown Series (Sat, Aug 14th)

Tickets are on-sale now for each event and fans are encouraged to reserve their seats ahead of time.